Blog Article

All Articles

Jury and Guests of our 2020 Editions

The Queer Lisboa 24 jury consists of twelve members, responsible for awarding the five prizes from the five competitive sections:

The jury of the Feature Film Competition will be composed by André Tecedeiro (visual artist and poet), Joana Ascensão (Cinemateca Portuguesa programmer), and Miguel Nunes (actor). The jury for the Documentary Competition will be composed by Catarina Alves Costa (filmmaker and anthropologist), Margarida Mercês de Mello (TV Host), and Paulo Pascoal (actor and activist). The Short Film and "In My Shorts" Competitions jury members are José Magro (filmmaker), Ricardo Barbosa (actor) and Rita Natálio (artist and researcher). Finally, the Queer Art Competition jury will consist of Hugo Dinis (curator), Sérgio Braz d’Almeida (DOP), and Sónia Baptista (choreographer and playwright).

The Queer Porto 6 jury consists of three elements, responsible for awarding the two prizes from the two competitive sections: journalist Amanda Ribeiro, actor and programmer Daniel Gorjão, and artistic director Francisco Alves. They will be in charge of evaluating the Official Competition and the "In My Shorts" Competition for Portuguese School Short Films.

The Festivals will count with the presence of some national and international guests, among directors, producers and other cinema industry professionals.

Tucké Royale, Philipp Rühr and Anh Trieu will visit Queer Lisboa 24 from Germany for presenting the feature film Neubau, this year's winner of the Max Ophüls Prize.

In the Queer Art Competition, we highlight the visit to Lisbon of Chilean filmmaker Nicole Costa, who will present El Viaje de Monalisa, accompanied by Spanish filmmaker Adrián Silvestre, with whom she worked on Los Objetos Amorosos, a film that won the Best Feature Film and Best Actress Awards at Queer Lisboa 20.

In the "In My Shorts" - European School Film Competition, we'll welcome, from France, Olivier Cheval, who competes with his second film Rose Minitel; and in the Shorts Competition, we'll welcome Roman Kané, for presenting Extérieur Crépuscule.

David Loira, Galician dancer resident in Berlin, arrives at the Festival to present his performance Blondi, which is part of the #skin program of this year's Queer Focus. Also in this Section, we will count with the remote participation of Polish filmmaker Karol Radziszweski and, also, the Colombian performer Nadia Granados.

Other guests will join the Lisbon Festival to debate various subjects related to the program's films. For the debate "Lisbon without AIDS: Freedom, Participation and Activism", which will be moderated by Sofia Crisóstomo and Luís Veríssimo, we will receive Maria José Campos, Paolo Gorgoni, Luma Andrade, Sérgio Vitorino and Pedro Silvério Marques.

And for a conversation about the Jennifer Reeves oeuvre, included in the #memory program of this year's Queer Focus, we will count with the presence of Fernanda Eugénio, AND Lab Arte-Pensamento e Políticas da Convivência director, Joana Menezes, from APAV – Associação Portuguesa de Apoio à Vítima, and Sérgio Braz d'Almeida, photographer, visual and audiovisual artist who is part of this year's Queer Art Competition Jury.

In Porto, the Festival will receive the visit, from the United Kingdom, of this year's guest programmer, Sam Ashby, who will host a conversation with filmmaker Liz Rosenfeld (american, but resident in Berlin, and from whom we will present Fuck Tree in Lisbon and liz/james/stillholes in Porto) at "Casa Comum", about the third program dedicated to #cruising, included in this edition's Queer Focus.

Also to present his films Afterimages and Kisieland, included in the same Section, director Karol Radziszweski will be visiting us from Poland.

In the "In My Shorts" - Portuguese School Films Competition for Queer Porto 6, Ana Matos (A Dança do Narciso Inseguro), Paulo Malafaya (Somewhere in Outer Space this Might Be Happening Somehow), Maria João Paiva (De A a D), Ana Manana and Joana Lourenço (Caravagyo) are expected to attend.

Get to know all the juries and guests of Queer Lisboa 24 and Queer Porto 6 here.